top of page

My last day in Bilbao

So I have packed almost everything and I have a little problems because I have sooooo much stuff. Like, I didn't even expect that only few new things (actually more than few), what I bought will take so much space away... crazy!

Also I've been trying to eat all my food. I'm so full. I have to eat so much ice-cream. I'm so glad that I came here! People here are so nice and the city here is so beautiful. I met beautiful and really nice people here. I must say that here I feel more like I'm home. I don't have that weird feeling inside me like I had in Estonia and in Finland. And I love hearing Spanish. So beautiful language also, sometimes funny for me :D So... I was doing my internship in a hotel. I had so much fun there and I learned about myself something new. I learned that I'm not that good at remembering/knowing special details abot some places, and because of that, next time I will do my best not to do the same mistake. Right know.. I feel happiness inside me because first I didn't believe that I will do my internship good, learning Spanish that quick to understand it a bit or even talk made me feel surprised. I'm happy that I had a change to be in Hotel Conde Duque as a trainee. Co-workers there are so friendly and understandable. And they were also happy to have me there :) Working there everyday went quickly. They do their work really quick and it also helped me to do my work quicker, usually I'm slow doing things. I remember some parts from my first year internship. There were many days that I was unhappy and cried sometimes. Now I don't have that problem because I have getting stronger and I won't let things/words get into me. Also, I'm more responsible, like this year I haven't been late at all, I did my work like they thought me. There were some moments that I was lost, because everyone is doing their work their own way, but I got trough it. But that is why we have internships to learn! To practise, to know ourselves and others! Every year I've been learning about myself what I like to do and what I don't like. Also, how to deal with different customers. Now I have more bigger view of hotels, how they work. First i thought it's easy, you do check-in and check-outs and answer to phone calls. But no, it's much lager... Hotel Conde Duque is the 3*** hotel, and the oldest in town. They started first Sercotel associated hotel in Spain. Also, in 2002 to 2013 they were Best Western Hotel. Now it's a privet hotel focused on best service. Near to the hotel, about 10 min. is Guggenheim museum. I've been there and I really liked it :) And other museum near to the hotel is Museum of Belles Arts of Bilbao, which is like 15 min by walking. Also you can have a boat trip on Bilbao's river ;) And from the hotel you can rent a bike to enjoy the city on sunny days :) On summer times there is also a guided tour. I've been thinking that right know tourism is made easier for people. What I mean is that for example we have a lots of apps where we can search flight tickets, things to do, places to go etc. And in the apps we can write reviews about the place for the next travellers. We can see many reviews from others to decide wether to go to that place or not. We can travel by plane, by car, by bus.. etc. But some of those examples takes time to go to that one place and also cost a lot. One day I was looking plane tickets to Valencia from Bilbao. There was many options but most of them was with connection flights and were expensive also, the timing was so long to get to Valencia. I din't find any good timing direct flights, there was, but with really bad timing and of course they were cheaper also. So I'm thinking that in the future it'll be more easier and also good for everyone if there will be options for everyone! Because I don't have time for connection flights. I don't like connection flights :D I know it's negative thinking about it that way, but I'm not the only one who wants to get on a direct flight. I think that maybe in the future it will be like more bigger. What I mean by that is there is more options, more places to go, and also some places could stay free. I know, and I understand that people wants to protect sightseeings but I also think that we should have places to go which are free and for everyone to have fun! Also one day when I went to Bosque de Oma - it's a forest with painted trees-I was thinking with a friend that maybe in the future there will be escalators everywhere for making easier people to 'walk' :D Like now, we have those hoverboards... Here are some pictures of that forest

I'm studying tourism at Vantaa Vocational College Varia, and it's my final year. I've been learning so much in three years! About myself, about the world of tourism.. I had some downs but also ups. For me it have been hard to learn it in other language, but i did it! I did it! YAY And also the knowledge what I got from the school is good to take a next step. I've bene thinking to go study tourism in next level. But also i have plan B - work. I haven't decided yet should I go to school again or should I go to work for a year or two, because first I really want to earn money to have my own home, to travel and see the world. I see myself working at the airport more than 5 years. I really like there but I also think that in some point I need change, I don't know what kind of change but we'll see what life brings ;) I want to thank all my teachers who have helping and teaching me. And I hope that I've been a good student to step into a bigger world. Much love to my teachers in Vantaa Vocational College Varia *Heart* *hugs*


bottom of page